Monday Notes – June 29, 2009

A message from Caitlin:  Good morning! People need love on Mondays more than any other day, so be sure to post an Operation Beautiful note and send a picture of it to me at seebriderun@gmail.com!

 

Hayley wrote, “I went on a small day out with the family yesterday and took up a quick opportunity to slap up a post-it in the Café Rouge toilets. Here’s a picture!”

P260609_1656

Dana wrote, “I love your site and the idea of it.  It has really lifted my spirits and I love to read to notes everyday.  Today I went to lunch with my family at Red Robin and posted 6 notes all over the bathroom including the ones below!”

IMG00161 

Kimberly at Gluten Free Life wrote, “A few weeks ago, my mother-in-law fell down a couple of steps & broke both of her ankles.  She has now had surgery and is in a cast on her right leg & boot on her left and is supposed to be off of her feet completely for 3 months. Today I was able to sign her cast and I wrote “You are beautiful…don’t forget it!” and then signed my name.  I can only imagine how depressing it is for her to stay in bed all day long, day in & day out”

 

Debbie wrote, “I’m amazed at how powerful this has been for me- It was an unexpected surprise.   I posted these three notes at Gold’s Gym Palm Desert, CA.  One was on the bathroom mirror, the other on the group exercise schedule.  It’s a hard-core gym and some professional body builders train there.  But there are lots of plain folks as well.  I am sure that all can benefit if they really take the messages on board.”

photo(2)

photo(3)

photo

A reader posted this note in a Chili’s restroom and wrote to say, “It says “you are beautiful no matter what, so go eat that burger and don’t feel guilty!” One woman noticed it and said “that’s right!”

0627091733

Whitney from Whit is Get ting Fit wrote, “This one was to myself. I am a little obsessed with health and beauty mags. In an effort to remind myself that I am enough, I posted this on my Women’s Health magazine.”

CIMG0944

Jessica from The Last 10 Lbs. and the First 10Ks wrote: “I finally got a chance to do some post-it note posting.. it was awesome!!  The first one was taken in the washroom at my  Weight Watchers meeting….”
IMG_0521

“The next one was put in the changeroom at American Eagle. I really liked this one because I find the store really caters to younger girls, in their teenage years. These girls usually are the ones who feel a lot of pressure to look a certain way and to fit in certain sizes.”

 IMG_0522

“Finally the last one was taken in the changeroom at Roots. If you can’t read the note it says “No Mirrors? It’s all about how you feel, not how you look.” I used to HATE it when there weren’t mirrors in changerooms because it forced you to come out to see yourself in the mirror. I cannot tell you how many times I didn’t come out because I was embarrassed and didn’t want people to see me! I also thought it was funny there was a movie poster for The Hangover!”

IMG_0525

Lara wrote in to say, “I have 2 wonderful daughters, 8 and 10, and we watched the movie and at first the girls asked if we would get in trouble putting things up in places we did not own, but when they woke up to notes on the wall next to their bed they were inspired.  So that day we went to my work and posted some around people’s desks and in the bathroom.  Today we did our usual Saturday things like going out to breakfast and running errands and left notes on storefront windows (the Hallmark lady opening up for the day had the best look on her face as she unlocked the store), in the public bathrooms at our favorite stores and various places at shopping/eating spots and on the doors of our family friends’ homes.  They don’t want to stop!  I love feeling like part of something bigger…spreading love all around the world.  What better thing can I pass on to my girls!”

 

Jennifer from Peanut Butter and Jenny sent this note in:

DSC02810

Brandon (a man!) wrote me to say, “I’m a guy — I’m not supposed to get the purpose of these Operation Beautiful notes, but I do! Everyone is bringing happiness to other women who are self-conscious because of what society is telling them.  You are totally fighting the power,  and I think that’s just bitchin’ of you to do!”

4 responses to “Monday Notes – June 29, 2009

  1. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    I love that a man is even getting it!

  2. peaceandchange

    I love these notes, they make my day 🙂
    and I love how even a guy is in on it!
    Right on man. 🙂

  3. I couldn’t agree with the american eagle thing more! I love their jeans but I cannot wear any of their tops at all. They definitely cater to the thinner, taller girls and it usually makes me feel awful when I go in there to try on shirts. I feel fat and short, so I love that the notes were posted in there. 🙂

  4. Your website and idea are fabulous. Thank you for taking the time to help others feel better about themselves. The world needs more people like you in it!! xoxox

Leave a Reply

