Thursday Notes – July 2, 2009

A message from Caitlin:  If you want to participate in Operation Beautiful, post a note, take a picture, and send it to seebriderun@gmail.com!  Spread the love! XOXO

 

Kelly wrote, “Here is a picture of a post-it that I stuck next to the mirror (it wouldn’t stay on the mirror) at a grocery store in Idaho!”

001_(2)

Donna wrote, “Let me tell you I found the web site on a day when I was truly searching for something to just get me through another Monday. Just feeling blue, struggling with weight loss, and dating nightmares. In the past 3 months I’ve had 3 guys discontinue dating me or I had to call it off with them over the state of my body….. But each experience makes me reach down inside a little bit deeper and just come back stronger and more resolved to love myself and take care of myself first.   Today I posted 10 of these little inspiring post-its all around the company where I work. I put some on vending machines and others in bathrooms. I felt like an impish fairy!”

0630091243a

Jen from Recipes for Creativity wrote, “I am hoping some girl will see these notes and realize she’s just as beautiful as that air brushed model!”

don't_compare

three_notes

Jenn wrote, “I now work at a hotel as a server/bartender and even though it’s very convenient and pleasant most of the time, sometimes it can be a negative and draining environment (whether it’s coworkers or guests).”  She posted this note in both English and Spanish so all of her coworkers can read it!

OB_06-29-09

Suzy and her boyfriend, Louk, posted two notes.  The first note went on a gas pump and it reads: “If you can dream it, you can do it” – Walt Disney. Remember that! YOU CAN DO IT!!!”

  DSC07775

The second note reads: See yourself as a soul with a body, rather than a body with a soul!”

DSC07799 

Mizfit posted this note:

mizfit8

AJ from AJ Loves to Lose wrote, “Such a great idea—here is the note put up in my office women’s bathroom—hope it sparks more women thinking about inner beauty!”

obpic

Andrea posted this lovely graphic all over SparkPeople.com to help spread the message of Operation Beautiful:

Jess from What’s Normal, Anyway? wrote in to say: “I just wanted to let you know that my Mom called me last night to let me know that the note I posted in the ladies bathroom at St. Augustine’s Catholic Church and Student Center in Gainesville, FL was still up after a week and 1/2! And what’s better is a group of new undergrads were talking about it!”

 

Mel from Ladies Fitness Corner posted these notes all around GERMANY!

fitblog11

fitblog12

fitblog14

Colleen wrote back to say, “OMG, OMG, OMG!  I went in the restroom just now (here at work) and someone had put a post-it up in the stall that said “You are beautiful!” It’s catching on!! “

 

Kalie wrote, “I have been suffering from an eating disorder the last three years.  I have been in and out of out-patient therapy the past couple years.  I am still struggling with body image and bulimia.  The last two days have been the best for me since I can remember.  “Operation Beautiful” has helped me so much.  In fact, I just was having anxiety about my dinner I ate.  My urge to binge and purge was strong, but I pulled out a mirror I made yesterday and got through it.  I bought a cheap full length mirror and used a permanent marker to write down all the negative stuff that I didn’t like about myself.  Then, next to the negative I wrote the opposite or positive.  Like for example, “cellulite on my legs – these two legs helped me run 13 miles.  “I’m still taking it one day at a time, but I never realized the power of telling YOURSELF that you are beautiful and perfect just the way you are.  I’m not the size of my jeans, or the tone of my body. “

 

Liz posted these gems in a library book and in a bathroom:

book

The second note reads: Honor Yourself!

school

Katie wrote, “Today I went to the mall with my pad of sticky notes. I went through the whole mall and the parking lot full of cars. At each store I put notes saying, “Your beautiful just the way you are with the clothes you have on!” or “Your beautiful and don’t let anyone tell you different!” etc. Well going back through the mall to buy my friend a gift I heard people saying they didn’t need to buy new clothes or they just smiled. No matter what they did it was worth the hours of work. I’m glad I could make a difference!”

One response to “Thursday Notes – July 2, 2009

  1. That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

