Thursday Notes – August 20, 2009

Don’t forget!  Today is Day 2 of the Official Operation Beautiful Charity Necklacke Drive.  The benefiting charity is Dress for Success, which helps women in need feel confident and beautiful when they are searching for jobs. Leave more about the charity here, and purchase the beautiful necklace here!  It makes a great gift!  And come back later today for an interview with a woman who has benefited from Dress for Success.

beautiful

Here’s a story that was FOUND by the right woman at the right time… Sami wrote, “I was in Barnes & Noble tonight, and I picked up a book. It was titled “Women who Hurt Themselves”. I’ve just recently started hurting myself because sometimes it’s the only way I know how to handle the pain. That, and the fact that I experience a lot of self hatred everyday.   Anyway, when I opened the cover, there was a little green post it note that said “You are perfect just the way you are. Don’t forget it! =) Operationbeautiful.com”  Even though it could’ve been meant for anyone, I feel like I found that note at just the right time. Whoever left it, I thank them with all my heart. Words can’t express how deeply grateful I am that I stumbled across this little piece of paper.   I think I’ll start leaving “You are beautiful” notes around town. It’s a wonderful thing that you all are doing. Thank you for making people feel beautiful!”

 

Apasmara posted this note on a park bench:

IMG01156

Mikey posted these notes around the store:

3

2 

1

Diane wrote, “This e-mail is something I did as a kind of Operation Beautiful as I have a chronic illness and don’t leave the house much.   Hopefully some of my friends around Australia will get on board and spread post-its throughout Sydney and Melbourne:”

 

To all my sisters on this Earth I have adapted this for you.
It used to be a chain letter, now the choice is yours without guilt or superstition.

Dear God by all your names and forms;

The lady reading this is beautiful, classy, strong and I love her.

Help her live her life to the fullest.
Please promote her and cause her to excel above her expectations.
Help her shine in the darkest places where it seems impossible to love.

Help her to believe that she is more than enough just as she is.
Protect her at all times, lift her up when she needs you the most,

And let her know when she walks with the love of Spirit in her heart, she will always be safe.
Thank you and Amen.

 

If you choose to forward this on something wonderful will happen, you will have let some beautiful women know their worth! There is no limit to how many people you can send it to, or how long you take to send it.   If you want more ideas on how to help women feel beautiful, empowered and loved, visit:  Operation Beautiful!

 

Grace wrote, “I believe this is such an inspirational crusade.  Although I haven’t yet started, I’m writing up notes for school tomorrow. This means that your crusade will have reached 13 year olds to 17 year olds in Australia.  I gave this one to my teacher:”

IMG01234

Kristen wrote, “So far, I’ve only posted notes inside, but now that I’m walking to work, I decided to put one outside. I noticed a lamp post with a bunch of ads on it and figured that if they people selling services thought people looked there, I might as well try a note there. So, on my way home from work today, I posted this note.”

IMG_0770

Nikki wrote, “I came across your Operation Beautiful site a couple days ago and since then have been hooked on the idea.  I immediately prepped a bunch of pre-written  post-its with “Beautiful type” sayings on them to post around town (Edmonton and/or Sherwood Park, Alberta).  This is my first one!  I was meeting a friend for dinner after work today and had a few moments to
kill…I decided to use this time to do one of my favorite things- browse
around the bookstore! (and, of course, use the washroom- where I posted this
note!)”

operationbeautiful1

If you love Operation Beautiful and want to participate, post a note, take a picture, and e-mail it to Caitlin at seebriderun@gmail.com!  Spread the love!

Leave a Reply

